first slow dance

The first boy I danced with
I was 15
no one had ever asked me to slow dance before
It was where all dances happen back then
in the gym
It wasn't a boy I had a crush on at all
But I didn't think he was awful either
He had big blue eyes
I remember the song 
Lady in Red
I was totally scared
but I said yes
The lyrics so did not match 
the situation
I wasn't wearing red 
we were not dancing cheek to cheek 
I was nervous -- didn't know what it meant
did he like me? 
nothing ever came of it 
no kiss 
no asking for a date 
Nothing 
Just a nervous dance
I've rarely said yes to dancing with anyone else
I like to dance on my own 
I like to dance by myself in a crowd 
In a way not choosing one partner 
Is like dancing with everyone at the same time
There is no pressure -- only the pleasure of moving 
to the music -- which I really love 
I can move my body to the beat -- dance in unison 
with the lyrics -- not be ironic 
not dance a lie 


Categories UncategorizedTags , , ,

Leave a comment

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close